The sickle cell disease is more prevalent than any other genetic disease such as cystic fibrosis , Phenylketonuria (PKU ) , Hemophilia , Tay -Sachs and muscular dystrophy. According to the World Health Organization (WHO) , sickle cell anemia is recognized as one of the 4 plagues , as well as malaria, AIDS and tuberculosis.

Some statistics:

1/10 Black people has the gene for sickle cell disease.
1/400 child of the community at risk is reached
When both parents have the trait of the disease, there are 25 % chance that the child is sick.
More than 300 000 children are born each year worldwide with the disease and 50% will not reach their fifth birthday in absence of support from birth. Sickle cell anemia is more common than hemophilia , muscular dystrophy , cystic fibrosis and many others.
In Canada, as in Quebec, there is very little data despite its prevalence and chronicity ; she is very little known and very few resources are allocated to help the sick , although many human consequences and unhappy.

comp-anemie-malaldieThe sickle cell disease

The sickle cell disease is a group of hereditary diseases the most common are the SICKLE CELL ANEMIA and S / thalassemia In general , the term sickle cell disease is used to describe a group of genetic blood disorders of red blood cells characterized by a predominance of hemoglobin S. the main manifestations of the disease are chronic anemia and organ damage caused by the obstruction of blood flow.

Learn more

Young slimming girlThe effects of the disease

Sickle cell anemia is a chronic disease with very painful crises that occur repeatedly throughout the life of sufferers. This pain is a symptom that haunts sickle cell disease patients , their parents and carers.

Learn more

Pretty female biologist holding a manual pipette with sample froCare and treatment

Currently sickle cell disease is incurable, but adequate medical care can prevent the effects . Pain in the person with sickle cell disease, because most often it will re-offend , should be treated quickly and effectively . Repeated pain, by the way they are experienced , have an impact on the psychological development and the child’s physical and his way of feeling the painful crises that will occur again and again.

Learn more

 

Partners

The generosity of the partners plays a key role in the development and growth of the Sickle Cell Anemia Association of Quebec. Their support is invaluable. We thank them from the heart.

La maladie falciforme est plus répandue que toute autre maladie génétique, telles que la Fibrose kystique, la Phénylcétonurie (PKU), l’Hémophilie, le Tay-Sachs et la Dystrophie musculaire.  Selon l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS), l’anémie falciforme est reconnue comme étant un des 4 fléaux, au même titre que la malaria, le sida et la tuberculose.

Quelques statistiques:

1/10 personnes de race noire a le gène de la maladie falciforme.
1/400 enfant de la communuté à risque est atteint
Lorsque les deux parents ont le trait de la maladie, il y a 25% de possibilités que l’enfant soit malade.
Plus de 300 000 enfants naissent chaque année à travers le monde avec cette maladie et 50% n’atteindront pas leur cinquième anniversaire en absence d’une prise en charge dès la naissance. L’anémie falciforme est plus fréquente que l’hémophilie, la dystrophie musculaire, la fibrose kystique et bien d’autres.
Au Canada, comme au Québec, il y a très peu de données malgré sa prévalence et sa chronicité; elle est très peu connue et très peu de moyens sont alloués pour aider les malades, bien qu’ayant des conséquences humaines nombreuses et malheureuses.

comp-anemie-malaldieLa maladie falciforme

La maladie falciforme représente un ensemble de maladies héréditaires dont les plus fréquentes sont l’ANÉMIE FALCIFORME et la S/BÊTATHALASSÉMIE En général, le terme maladie falciforme est utilisé pour décrire un groupe d’anomalies sanguines génétiques des hématies caractérisés par une prédominance de l’hémoglobine S. Les principales manifestations de la maladie sont une anémie chronique et des dommages aux organes causés par l’obstruction du flot sanguin.

En savoir plus

Young slimming girlLes effets de la maladie

L’Anémie falciforme est une maladie chronique, avec des crises très douloureuses qui surviennent de manière répétée tout au long de la vie des personnes atteintes. Cette douleur est un symptôme qui hante les malades d’anémie falciforme, leurs parents et leur entourage.

En savoir plus

Pretty female biologist holding a manual pipette with sample froSoins et traitements

Actuellement l’anémie falciforme est incurable, mais des soins médicaux adéquats peuvent en prévenir les effets.  La douleur chez la personne atteinte de maladie falciforme, parce que le plus souvent elle récidivera, doit être traitée efficacement et rapidement. Les douleurs répétées, par la manière dont elles sont vécues, auront un impact sur le développement psychologique et physique de l’enfant et sur sa manière de ressentir les crises douloureuses qui surviendront encore et encore.

En savoir plus

 

Partenaires

La générosité des partenaires joue un rôle clé dans le développement et la croissance de l’Association d’Anémie Falciforme du Québec. Leur soutien est inestimable. Nous les remercions du fond du cœur.