Sickle cell anemia is a chronic disease with very painful crises that occur repeatedly throughout the life of sufferers. This pain is a symptom that haunts sickle cell disease patients , their parents and carers.

Pain in children with sickle cell disease, because most often it will re-offend , should be treated quickly and effectively . Repeated pain, by the way they are experienced , have an impact on the psychological and physical development of the child and on his way to feel the painful crises that will occur again and again.

Sickle Cell Disease

The sickle cell disease is a group of hereditary diseases the most common are the SICKLE CELL ANEMIA and S / beta-thalassemia

In general , the term sickle cell disease is used to describe a group of genetic blood disorders of red blood cells characterized by a predominance of hemoglobin S. The main manifestations of the disease are chronic anemia and organ damage caused by the blockage blood flow .

Sickle cell anemia is a chronic disease that represents a major challenge to the medical profession . Frequent hospitalizations can lead to social isolation as well as academic failure of a child. Sickle cell anemia is in fact a disease gene hemoglobin, blood protein for fastening and transport of respiratory gases in the blood ( oxygen and carbon dioxide).

n the person with sickle cell anemia , red blood cells that contain sickle hemoglobin become rigid , elongated and take the form of a sickle. So they can easily flow in small blood vessels.

Due to the rigidity and shape of the sickled red cells , there is automatically an obstruction of blood flow . This is a non-contagious genetic disease. It is hereditary autosomal , which means that she reaches both girls and boys , and it occurs only when you are carrying two disease genes .

The sickle cell disease is more prevalent than any other genetic disease such as cystic fibrosis , Phenylketonuria (PKU ) , Hemophilia , Tay -Sachs and muscular dystrophy.

  • 1/10 Black people has the gene for sickle cell disease.
  • 1/400 child of community risk is reached
  • When both parents have the trait of the disease, there are 25 % chance that the child is sick.
  • More than 300 000 children are born each year worldwide with the disease and 50% will not reach their fifth birthday in absence of support from birth. Sickle cell anemia is more common than hemophilia , muscular dystrophy , cystic fibrosis and many others.
  • In Canada, as in Quebec, there is very little data despite its prevalence and chronicity ; she is very little known and very few resources are allocated to help the sick , although many human consequences.

One could trace the origin of the S gene in countries where malaria was common , such as Africa , the Caribbean, sometimes among the Arabs , Greeks , Italians , people from Central America, Portuguese, Turkey and the people who come from Israel , Saudi Arabia , Yemen , Kuwait and India.

In the Montreal area, the Haitian community is the largest community in which we have a considerable rate of people suffering from sickle cell disease, not to mention the communities from African countries , the rate also increases.

This disease affects the beta hemoglobin genes. Normal beta gene are called A and abnormal genes are called S. These genes lead to the formation of abnormal hemoglobin protein whose presence in red blood cells leads to destruction , and thus a very serious anemia. Every human being has in principle all the genes of their genetic heritage in duplicate and has two beta genes in combination can be AA , AS, or SS . Only individuals SS are sick.

AS are healthy carriers but may give birth to children with sickle cell disease. When two people with blood type AS marry, their children are at 25% risk of being seriously ill .

The sickle cell disease , hemoglobin SC and S / thalassemia are among the types of sickle cell disease most frequently encountered . The majority of people with sickle cell disease are type O without hemoglobinopathy SC . The sufferer has two types of abnormal hemoglobins S and C.

AS sickle cell trait is not a disease and never develops in sickle cell disease.

Partners

The generosity of the partners plays a key role in the development and growth of the Sickle Cell Anemia Association of Quebec. Their support is invaluable. We thank them from the heart.

L’Anémie falciforme est une maladie chronique, avec des crises très douloureuses qui surviennent de manière répétée tout au long de la vie des personnes atteintes. Cette douleur est un symptôme qui hante les malades d’anémie falciforme, leurs parents et leur entourage.

La douleur chez l’enfant atteint de maladie falciforme, parce que le plus souvent elle récidivera, doit être traitée efficacement et rapidement. Les douleurs répétées, par la manière dont elles sont vécues, auront un impact sur le développement psychologique et physique de l’enfant et sur sa manière de ressentir les crises douloureuses qui surviendront encore et encore.

La Maladie Falciforme

La maladie falciforme représente un ensemble de maladies héréditaires dont les plus fréquentes sont l’ANÉMIE FALCIFORME et la S/BÊTATHALASSÉMIE

En général, le terme maladie falciforme est utilisé pour décrire un groupe d’anomalies sanguines génétiques des hématies caractérisés par une prédominance de l’hémoglobine S. Les principales manifestations de la maladie sont une anémie chronique et des dommages aux organes causés par l’obstruction du flot sanguin.

L’anémie falciforme est une maladie chronique qui représente un défi de taille au corps médical. De fréquentes hospitalisations peuvent mener à l’isolement social de même qu’à l’échec scolaire d’un enfant. L’anémie falciforme est en fait une maladie des gènes de l’hémoglobine, protéine du sang servant à la fixation et au transport des gaz respiratoires dans le sang (oxygène et gaz carbonique).

Chez la personne atteinte d’anémie falciforme, les globules rouges qui contiennent l’hémoglobine falciforme deviennent rigides, allongés et prennent la forme d’une faucille. Ainsi, ils peuvent difficilement circuler dans les petits vaisseaux sanguins.

En raison de la rigidité et de la forme des globules rouges falciformes, il se produit automatiquement une obstruction de la circulation sanguine. C’est une maladie génétique non contagieuse. Elle est héréditaire autosomale, c’est- à – dire qu’elle atteint autant les filles que les garçons, et qu’elle se manifeste seulement lorsqu’on est porteur de deux gènes de la maladie.

La maladie falciforme est plus répandue que toute autre maladie génétique, telles que la Fibrose kystique, la Phénylcétonurie (PKU), l’Hémophilie, le Tay-Sachs et la Dystrophie musculaire.

  • 1/10 personnes de race noire a le gène de la maladie falciforme.
  • 1/400 enfant de la communuté à risque est atteint
  • Lorsque les deux parents ont le trait de la maladie, il y a 25% de possibilités que l’enfant soit malade.
  • Plus de 300 000 enfants naissent chaque année à travers le monde avec cette maladie et 50% n’atteindront pas leur cinquième anniversaire en absence d’une prise en charge dès la naissance.  L’anémie falciforme est plus fréquente que l’hémophilie, la dystrophie musculaire, la fibrose kystique et bien d’autres.
  • Au Canada, comme au Québec, il y a très peu de données malgré sa prévalence et sa chronicité; elle est très peu connue et très peu de moyens sont alloués pour aider les malades, bien qu’ayant des conséquences humaines nombreuses et malheureuses.

On a pu retracer l’origine du gène S dans les pays où la malaria était courante, tels que le continent africain, les Caraïbes, parfois chez les Arabes, les Grecs, les Italiens, les gens d’Amérique centrale, les Portugais, les Turques et les personnes qui viennent d’Israël, d’Arabie Saoudite, du Yemen, du Kuwait et de l’Inde.

Dans la région de Montréal, la communauté Haïtienne est la plus grosse communauté où l’on a un taux de gens assez considérable souffrant de la maladie falciforme, sans oublier les communautés issues de pays d’Afrique dont le taux augmente aussi.

Cette maladie concerne les gènes beta de l’hémoglobine. Les gènes beta normaux sont appelés A et les gènes anormaux sont appelés S. Ces gènes conduisent à la formation d’une protéine d’hémoglobine anormale, dont la présence dans les globules rouges conduit à la destruction et donc à une anémie très grave. Chaque être humain possède en principe tous les gènes de son patrimoine génétique en double exemplaire et possède deux gènes bêta en combinaison pouvant être AA,AS, ou SS. Seuls les individus SS sont malades.

Les AS sont porteurs sains mais pouvent donner naissance à des enfants atteints de maladie falciforme. Lorsque deux personnes ayant un sang de type AS se marient, leurs enfants courent un risque de 25 % d’être gravement atteints.

La maladie falciforme, l’hémoglobinopathie SC et S/Bêtathalassémie comptent parmi les types de maladies falciformes les plus fréquemment rencontrées. La majorité des personnes atteintes de la maladie falciforme sont de type S sans l’hémoglobinopathie SC. La personne qui en souffre possède deux types d’hémoglobines anormales, S et C.

Le trait falciforme AS n’est pas une maladie et ne se développe jamais en maladie falciforme.

Partenaires

La générosité des partenaires joue un rôle clé dans le développement et la croissance de l’Association d’Anémie Falciforme du Québec. Leur soutien est inestimable. Nous les remercions du fond du cœur.