Sickle cell anemia is a chronic disease with very painful crises that occur repeatedly throughout the life of sufferers. This pain is a symptom that haunts sickle cell disease patients , their parents and carers.

The most common sign of infection is fever and it should not be taken lightly.

Pneumonia develops hundred times more frequently in children with sickle cell disease than in the general population . Respiratory infections , intestinal and other infectious diseases are due to an inability of the spleen to remove bacteria.

Due to the rapid destruction of red blood cells of sickle cell disease, large amounts of hemoglobin are released into the system. When symptoms are attributable to the Mayors calculations , surgery is needed to remove the gallbladder.

On average, puberty in children with sickle disease is delayed by about two years compared with healthy children.

When a stroke occurs, should be administered red blood cell transfusions every month to reduce the risk of a second stroke which could be fatal.

Poor blood circulation in the hip region can cause death of part of the bone. It is the same for the knee and it requires surgery to solidify.

Sickle disease can cause kidney tissues. The kidneys of people with sickle cell disease do not accumulate and retain water effectively. Dehydration triggers seizures and increases the viscosity of the blood.

The hypoxemia occurs in the following situations:

  • Altitudes higher than 1 500m
  • Inefficient or lack of pressurization in an airplane
  • Vigorous physical effort
  • Standing in one place for a long period of time
  • Coldness
  • Physical and psychological stress
  • Tight clothing
  • Sitting crossed-legged
  • Fever
  • Dehydration
  • and more…

Perhaps the biggest obstacle to the success of some children with sickle cell disease is that it may miss more than 50 days of the school year , because of the care requirements to relieve symptoms.

The need for food hygiene is needed for children with sickle cell disease because dietary deficiencies aggravate anemia and decreased resistance to infection . Additional supplementation with folate and such protein is needed and parents should be informed of the food groups that contain these elements. Attention to iron overload in patients prone to blood transfusions !

Sickle cell anemia is often mentioned as an example of positive mutation since the anemia gene has a certain resistance to malaria. According to a scientific study in Portugal1 only the carriers of the sickle cell gene have a relative protection against malaria. Everybody travelling to destinations where malaria is common must protect themselves against it.

In addition, the University of Florence in Italy writes in MJHID “From the point of view of public health it is important that in malaria-endemic countries patients with SCA, and particularly children, be protected from malaria by appropriate prophylaxis2.”

Partners

The generosity of the partners plays a key role in the development and growth of the Sickle Cell Anemia Association of Quebec. Their support is invaluable. We thank them from the heart.

L’Anémie falciforme est une maladie chronique, avec des crises très douloureuses qui surviennent de manière répétée tout au long de la vie des personnes atteintes. Cette douleur est un symptôme qui hante les malades d’anémie falciforme, leurs parents et leur entourage.

Le signe d’infection le plus courant est la fièvre et il ne doit pas être pris à la légère.

La pneumonie se développe cent fois plus fréquemment chez les enfants atteints d’anémie falciforme que chez la population en générale. Les infections respiratoires, intestinales et toutes autres maladies infectieuses sont dues à une incapacité de la rate d’éliminer les bactéries.

En raison de la destruction rapide des globules rouges de la maladie falciforme, des grandes quantités d’hémoglobines sont relachées dans le système. Lorsque des symptômes sont imputables aux calculs Maires, une chirurgie s’avère necéssaire pour enlever la vésicule biliaire.

En moyenne, la puberté chez les enfants atteints de la maladie falciforme est retardée d’environ deux ans comparativement aux enfants en santé.

Lorsque un accident cérébrovasculaire se produit, on doit administrer des transfusions de globules rouges à chaque mois afin de réduire les risques d’un deuxième ACV qui pourrait être fatal.

Une circulation sanguine déficiente dans la région des hanches peut causer la mort d’une partie de l’os. Il en est de même pour les genoux et cela nécessite une intervention chirurgicale pour le solidifier.

Les maladies falciformes peuvent endommager les tissus des reins. Les reins des personnes atteintes de maladies falciformes n’accumulent et ne retiennent pas l’eau efficacement. La déshydratation déclenche les crises et augmente la viscosité du sang.

L’Hypoxémie survient dans les situations suivantes:

  • Altitude de plus de 1500m
  • Avion non ou mal pressurisé (excluant les jets réguliers)
  • Effort physique plus ou moins violent
  • Station debout prolongée
  • Le refroidissement
  • Le stress physique et psychologique
  • Vêtements trop serrés
  • Positions jambes croisées
  • La fièvre
  • Déshydratation
  • etc…

Peut-être le plus important obstacle au succès de certains enfants atteints de maladies falciformes est le fait que ce dernier peut manquer plus de 50 jours du calendrier scolaire, à cause des soins qu’il doit recevoir pour soulager ses symptômes.

La nécessité d’une hygiène alimentaire s’impose aux enfants atteints de la maladie falciforme, car les carences alimentaires aggravent l’anémie et diminuent la résistance aux infections. Un apport supplémentaire en folates et en protéines par exemple est nécessaire et les parents devraient être informés des groupes d’aliments qui contiennent ces éléments. Attention à la surcharge en fer pour les patients sujets à des transfusions sanguines !

L’anémie falciforme est cité comme un exemple de mutation favorable parce que le gène de l’anémie comporte une certaine résistance à la malaria. Malheureusement cet avantage est accompagné de plusieurs petits problèmes. Par exemple, les globules rouges affectés par l’anémie falciforme sont moins efficaces que les cellules normales pour transporter l’oxygène. L’individu atteint d’anémie falciforme peut être sujet à des crises très douloureuses ou même la mort, dues à des blocages des globules falciformes dans les vaisseaux sanguins.

Partenaires

La générosité des partenaires joue un rôle clé dans le développement et la croissance de l’Association d’Anémie Falciforme du Québec. Leur soutien est inestimable. Nous les remercions du fond du cœur.